|
| Welcome! We're happy you've found the PassPorter Community -- the friendliest place to plan your vacation to Walt Disney World, Disney Cruise Line, Disneyland, and the world in general! You are now viewing the PassPorter Message Board Community as a guest, which gives you limited access. As our guest, feel free to browse our messages by selecting the forum you want to visit from the list below. To post messages and ask questions, join our FREE community today and you'll get access to tools and resources not available to guests, such as our vacation countown timers, "living" avatars, private messaging system, database searches, downloads, and a special PassPorter discount code. Registration is fast, simple, and completely free. Just click the Join Our Community link. If you think you've already joined, log in below now. If you don't remember your member name or password, please visit our Member Name and Password Recovery page. You are also welcome to contact us. |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Community Rank: Day-Tripper Join Date: Feb 2001 Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 14
| Suspicious email from Passporter I received the following email, supposedly from this website. Please advise if this is legitimate or not and if it is legitimate, what does it mean? Thanks! Dear user of e-mail server "Yahoogroups.com", Your e-mail account will be disabled because of improper using in next three days, if you are still wishing to use it, please, resign your account information. For further details see the attach. For security reasons attached file is password protected. The password is "62080". Sincerely, The Yahoogroups.com team http://www.yahoogroups.com [Non-text portions of this message have been removed] PassPorterWDW is a community service from PassPorter Walt Disney World: The Complete Vacation Planning Site and PassPorter Walt Disney World: The unique travel guide, planner, organizer, journal, and keepsake! (we're the one with the built-in itinerary/storage pockets customized for your Disney vacation). http://www.passporter.com Yahoo! Groups Links <*> To visit your group on the web, go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PassPorterWDW_News/ <*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: PassPorterWDW_News-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com <*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/ |
| | |
| Login or Register to Hide This Ad Message Board Tip | ||||
Advertisement |
| |||
| | #2 (permalink) |
| PassPorter Guide ![]() Community Rank: Globetrotter ![]() Join Date: May 2000 Location: Toms River, NJ
Posts: 3,157
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter I got that, everyone who is a member of the PP Yahoo Group got that today. I'm betting it's been so inactive for so long, it's going to be shut down and we all got a warning email. |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Wannabe Snowbird Join Date: May 2002 Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 28,646
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter I got basically this same email from my email server today - twice! I contacted the company that provides our internet service and they told me it is a virus and to delete it immediately . Norton did not catch either email. I became suspicious because of the grammatical and typing errors. I was also told that people using hotmail, yahoo and telus for email servers were receiving emails containing this virus that were masquerading as notices from their servers. I don't know what the name of the virus is, nor whether it's a worm, a trojan, or whatver. Edited to add: Gee, I just checked my email again, and I got this PassPorter one too. I just deleted it. |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Community Rank: Traveler ![]() Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 428
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter <font color="green"> I have not gotten anything, so I don't know if it is a result of having the free email providers (hotmail, yahoo, etc). I would just delete it and not worry about it. Shannon </font> |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Mrs. Jack Sparrow Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: Aboard the Black Pearl
Posts: 17,360
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter <font color="blue">I got it too. I also opended it. Since it was Passporter on it. I hope I didn't get any Virus. </font> |
| | |
| Login or Register to Hide This Ad Message Board Tip | ||||
Advertisement |
| |||
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Rule #1: No mean allowed. Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posts: 7,560
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter I got it too, and my employer was warning us today about this virus. It's disguised to look like someone you trust -- at work, for example, it's from the "support" group. Here, it says from Jennifer and Dave. Either way, DELETE it. It's okay if you opened the e-mail -- just DO NOT open any attachments. Delete, delete, delete!! |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Yeti Chaser Join Date: Apr 2002 Location: Way down south
Posts: 19,051
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter I got the same email, but there was no attachment with it. A virus is sent by an attachment. But the wording did sound strange. I emailed Jennifer and asked her what it meant, and I am also going to contact Yahoo and ask them. I will let you know what I hear. |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Community Rank: Sightseer ![]() Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Lakewood, New Jersey
Posts: 77
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter <font color="red">DO NOT OPEN THIS E-MAIL OR ITS ATTACHMENTS </font> <font color="purple"> I received this e-mail today at work and it was addressed from our firm's e-mail address. Luckily, we keep up to date on our virus protection, so I didn't bring our whole system down, but there is a virus in this e-mail and it is designed to look official and from someone you know. We were told to hit shift and delete to permanently delete it from our computers. Hope this helps. </font> |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Join Date: Feb 2000 Location: Ann Arbor, MI USA
Posts: 8,712
| Re: Suspicious email from Passporter Hi Folks, That mail is definitely not legitimate. Do not open the attached file, under any circumstances. We're sorry this happened. We're taking steps to ensure that our YahooGroups account is not hijacked like this again. Meantime, we are sending out a message from that YahooGroups account to let folks know what happened. It will not have an attachment. If you've read this note, you don't even have to bother reading the e-mail. Thanks! |
| | |
| Login or Register to Hide This Ad Message Board Tip | |
Advertisement | Message Board Tip: Registered Message Board Members Get Our Free Newsletter! Register for our message board community today -- it's free and easy! |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |